Joy

There’s a feeling in my chest as the snow crunches underneath my feet,

I can feel the corners of my mouth turn up in a small smile.

The skies are clear,

a bright blue that reminds me of childhood and innocence,

And my breath dances in the frosty air.

 

Though the shadows are long, cast by the afternoon sun,

There is a skip in my step.

I wrap my scarf tighter around my neck,

as the wind blew through me,

whispering a soft hello in my ear as it passed.

 

My heart was full and warm,

despite the chill in the December air.

I look up, staring at the endless expanse of sky.

“This is enough,” I murmured,

And I continued on my way,

leaving behind small footprints on the freshly fallen snow

for someone else to follow.

Leave a Reply

